• Let Me Tell You Why...
  • Posts
  • Interview with the Second Gentleman of the United States! Top 6 Pizza Slices + More ! #4

Interview with the Second Gentleman of the United States! Top 6 Pizza Slices + More ! #4

Hey guys! Another week of incredible meals! But also, a very special interview with the Second Gentleman of the United States, Doug Emhoff! We go to a NYC institution 2nd Ave Deli, to not only talk about their incredible Jewish food, but his work fighting antisemtism and hate. Full Interview below in the video, with excerpts as well! New to the newsletter this week, ill be sharing my favorite things im watching/reading/and listening to! And remember, ONLY FOR YOU, merch is still on sale with this exclusive newsletter code “JULY15” for 15% off on JeremyJShop.com !

BEST BITE OF THE WEEK 🍴

What does food mean in terms of bringing us together?

Doug Emhoff: It brings back who I am, as a Jew, how I relate to my own Jewish culture and identity. So much of it is around this city, and this kind of food, and this kind of enviroment. And it’s not a bunch of Jewish people in here, this is a cross section of this incredible city. And writ large, when I travel the country, doing events, really trying to bring people together and fight hate, so much of it is around food…it is the universal thing that we share.

What is your favorite Jewish food?

Doug Emhoff: The pastrami, the kuegel, the matzah brei…my mom we love dearly, but was not a great cook. But she could make certain things, like matzo brie. But I’m a bagels and lox guy, I’m like a connoisseur. And constantly in search of the perfect bagel.

Thank you for your time

Doug Emhoff: Thank you for using your voice in the way you do, and celebrating being Jewish, and showing the joy of being Jewish. I mentioned it at the White House, I mention this anywhere I go, even these times that feel so dark and heavy, it’s still all about joy.

CLICK TO WATCH

Kokos at Pearl Alley

This tropical summer pop up bar is opening with a beach inspired menu of cocktails and ceviche. Some of the stand outs include rum punch, spicy watermenlon margarista, and jerk chicken sliders.

Palma Verde

Palma Verde at 1604 Broadway is a cafe where they are bringing a taste of Tulum to NYC! Their brunch menu is a mix of american and latin inspired dishes like their cinnnamon crumble french toast sticks, and cheesesteak empanadas!

Bar Primi

The new location of Bar Primi, 349 w. 33rd st, is launching brunch! Some of the highlights include their breakfast spaghetti, polenta griddle cakes, and exclusive to brunch is their new “Primi Pronto Tower” which will hold your choice of a frose, aperol spritz, or stella-cello.

PODCASTS

Happy Endings is one of my favorite shows ever, and two of the stars, Adam Pally and Casey Wilson have launched a podcast diving into the show! Happy Endings Podcast

MOVIES

I am slowing building my Criterion Collection, and this week I picked up and watched a film noir classic Double Indemnity

YOUTUBE

The LA Times Food youtube is one of my favorite subs! Their deepdives are always so informative, fun, and a little weird. This week Jenn Harris digs into the LA Ube Craze!

POLL TIME

Which Restaurant Should I go to Next?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Happy eating everyone! Cya next week!