Houston is THE MOST UNDERRATED Food City! + Japanese Power Rangers?! #8

Hey guys! This week I dive into my trip to Houston! I was blown away by every meal there, and by just how diverse the food scene was! Link below to watch everything that I ate! Plus info on a new Creole restaurant, and more! And remember, ONLY FOR YOU, merch is still on sale with this exclusive newsletter code “AUG15” for 15% off on JeremyJShop.com ! LOTS OF NEW ADDITIONS!

BEST BITE OF THE WEEK 🍴

Burger Bodega takes inspiration from NYC bodega’s, a splash of Houston, and an incredible Smashburger! I loved every bite, from that super thin crispy smash, to the chopped cheeses, to this amazing mango milkshake! Definitley a must stop in Houston!

OWNER’S WORDS: Abbas Dhanani🎤

Tell us about your restaurant?

Burger Bodega started as a smash burger pop-up bringing high-quality smash burgers to Houston. Burger Bodega has since then moved to a brick-and-mortar location at 4520 Washington Ave. Burger Bodega models a bodega atmosphere with a New York feel while embracing Houston elements.  

What was the process for developing your smashburger? How many did you try to find inspiration for yours?

I've worked in the fast food industry for many years and have researched hundreds of burgers nationwide. 

I also traveled to Los Angeles and New York to study some of the best smash burgers in those cities. I decided to use the inspiration to find key elements that would make our smashburger unique.  After years of researching and cooking burgers for my friends, I perfected my recipe and finally decided to try my smash burger as a pop-up.

What was it about NYC Bodegas that you wanted to bring it to Houston?

I have always admired the aesthetics of a NYC Bodega. There are plenty of bodegas all over New York City, but nothing really like it in Houston. I also loved how New York Bodegas served Chopped Cheese sandwiches. Although very popular in NYC, chopped cheese is still relatively new to the Houston food scene, and I wanted to bring that style of cuisine to Houston. Also, as a Houston food influencer, I wanted to pay homage to my favorite restaurants in Houston and mirror the bodega atmosphere by serving some of their products at Burger Bodega.

What’s the most surprising thing about the Houston food scene, that our of towners don’t know?

One thing that folks may not realize is that we have one of the most expansive and elite food scenes in the nation. You can eat food from almost every major country right here in Houston. Not only that, but because of the diversity in cuisine, our chefs are able to educate themselves to mold the fine dining scene in ways that other cities can’t.

What’s your favorite thing on the menu?

Smash Burger-Triple. Add habaneros. Aioli and Spicy Mayo on the side to dip. Mango Lassi Shake to wash it all down.

What is the most iconic NYC restaurant in your eyes?

NYC’s most iconic restaurant has to be either Katz’s or Peter Luger. I am in awe every time I go to either one of these just by the history alone.

CLICK TO WATCH

Smokey Buns

Smokey Buns has opened in East Hampton serving smashburgers, huge selection of bourbons & whiskeys, plus ice cream shakes!

Lavitta’s Creole

Lavitta’s Creole has opened in a former barber shop in Harlme, serving a farm to table Louisiana Creole Menu! Standouts include beignets, crawfish cakes, and a wild shimp po’ boy.

YOUTUBE

As a 90’s kid, I LOVED POWER RANGERS! And I found this channel on Youtube that does nothing but stream the original Japanese show that Power Rangers got their footage from, Kyōryū Sentai Zyuranger. Its all in Japanese, with subtitles, and i love it! Holds up way more than what we got here in the US. Watch Here

MUSIC

I am all in on the newest and last album from Childish Gambino “Bando and The New World”! The whole album is everything I love about Donald Glover’s music alter ego, but I can’t stop listening to “Running Around” “Real Love”, and “Yoshinoya” LISTEN HERE

POLL TIME

Which Restaurant Should I Go to Next?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Happy eating everyone! Cya next week!