• Let Me Tell You Why...
  • Posts
  • Hottest NEW Italian Restaurant in NYC! Japanese Mcdonalds, and 1,000 Hole Pancakes?! #2

Hottest NEW Italian Restaurant in NYC! Japanese Mcdonalds, and 1,000 Hole Pancakes?! #2

Hey guys! So many good eats this week! I dig deeper into my meal at the brand new il Totano, plus info on 1000 hole pancakes, fancy pop tarts, and more! ONLY FOR YOU, merch is still on sale with this exclusive newsletter code “WHY10” for 10% off on JeremyJShop.com 

BEST BITE OF THE WEEK 🍴

Flex Mussels has been a favorite for awhile, so I was excited to see what the team did with the old 13th street location as they turned it into the brand new southern seafood Italian inspired “il Totano” alongside Top Chef winner Harold Dieterle! See full video below for all my thoughts!

OWNER’S WORDS: Alex Shapiro 🎤

Photo Credit: Alex Lau

Tell us about your restaurant?

Il Totano is a southern italian seafood restaurant with a focus on dry aged fish. We want the diner to feel transported to the Italian coast both with our food and our interiors.  We heavily lean into crudos as a menu staple, and love big, bold intersting flavors.  Harold (Dieterle) is Sicilian, and an avid fisherman, which has heavily influenced the menu. The interiors were designed again by Sasha Bikoff (she also did Flex and Hoexters) and our inspiration was 1970's yacht life in Italy. 

Whats your personal favorite thing on the menu?

I love all the crudos, and the mafaldine with lamb.  I don't even like lamb and I am dreaming of this pasta! I also really love the spaghetti with crab sauce. 

What was the thought process of not just reopning Flex Mussels, but having a brand new concept?

After we opened the big Flex on the Upper East, we understood the full potential of Flex having a large street presence, and a big outdoor cafe.  Our new Uptown space really does Flex justice, and after 14 years in the West Village, we really needed a proper renovation.  It felt fun to do something new, interesting, and fresh in this space.  When I was introduced to Harold as a partner, it became an absolute must to work with him however I could!

What is the most iconic NYC restaurant in your eyes?

Oh god I don't even know where to begin!  There is iconic NYC, and then there is iconic TO ME in NYC.  In my opinion, a good diner is the best thing about NYC.  I truly had to move from Chicago in part because there was no diner to order from when you got home from the bars. We grew up eating diner, and to this day, a good (large) diner order is my most comforting meal.  I also love a great NYC slice.  It has been years since I have tasted what pizza tasted like when I was younger and growing up in the city, and I think I finally have tasted something close again at "L'industrie".  It still doesn't have quite the same cheese "tang" that pizza had when I was growing up. Another restaurant I grew up loving and eating in was Shabu Tatsu. Bulgogi bibimbap, kimchi, and sukiyaki are some of my very favorite foods to eat.  I also really adore Parkside Italian restaurant in Queens.  The food is always consistently delicious, and it just feels un fussy, familiar, and chaotic in the best way possible. 

CLICK TO WATCH

Zooba

June 1st, the Egyptian fast causal Zooba will transform their menu and space to be all about a “home cooked meal.” With dishes like an Egyptian Singari Branzino, Hot Sausage Macorana Bechamel, and Orange Rosemary Duck! 

Bar Bastion

Bar Bastion above the michelin starred restaurant Le Jardinier is kicking off their new weekly live jazz every Friday from 7:00-9:30pm! It’ll include seasonal cocktails, a make your own martini menu, plus small bites.

Brine Chicken

The fast casual Brine Chicken has introduced their brand new Brown Sugar Brine Tart which are hand made daily on site, and features a golden brown, crispy, and flakey tart dough! You can get it as a single tart, or a large format pie for 8-10 people.

Crave Sushi Bar

From the Crave Fishbar team, comes Crave Sushi Bar opening in Midtown East! Specialzing in locally sourced and sustanable farmed fish, they are serving an array of “dressed” nigiri and sashimi, hot dishes, and desserts from Magnolia Bakery!

Tara Kitchen

Tara Kitchen in Tribecca has launched a new brunch menu serving beghrir, aka the Moroccan 1,000 hole pancakes! “The semolina flour and sugar beghrir are cooked on one side, never flipped, and yeast in the batter create these tiny holes on the surface, giving rise to a delicate and lacy texture!”

POLL TIME

Which Restaurant Should I go to Next?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Happy eating everyone! Cya next week!