• Let Me Tell You Why...
  • Posts
  • BIG ANNOUNCEMENT! Chicago & CM Punk's Favorite Bakery! + NEW Italian/Asian Fusion Restaurant #10

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT! Chicago & CM Punk's Favorite Bakery! + NEW Italian/Asian Fusion Restaurant #10

Hey guys! This week I dive into my trip to Chicago and my search for the best breakfast in the city! I also got exclusive video from Frog Club, one of NYC’s weirdest dining experiences(?), and alot more! And remember, ONLY FOR YOU, merch is still on sale with this exclusive newsletter code “SEPT15” for 15% off on JeremyJShop.com ! I just got the NEW 20 oz tumbler and i’m loving it!

HUGE NEWS!🍴

My Podcast is BACK and better than ever! “Brunch With” has become “Let Me Tell You Why…with Jeremy Jacobowitz” and will act as a companion to the newsletter! So if you would rather listen to this, and/or get a deeper dive into the interview of the week, plus me just going off on random Jeremy thoughts, you can listen wherever you get your podcasts from! Links to Spotify and Apple Podcasts below

BEST BITE OF THE WEEK 🍴

The second I walked into Mindy’s Bakery and the aroma of all the fresh baked bread and pastries hit my nose, I KNEW this was going to be good! The hot fudge babka was UNREAL, and I took their suggestion and tried the bialy with roasted red onions, froamge blanc, and parmesan, SO GOOD. I must go back and try even more! Excerpts from the full interview can be found below!

OWNER’S WORDS: Mindy Segal🎤

Photo Courtesy of Cresco Labs

Tell us about your restaurant?

Well, it's, actually 38 years of wanting to own a bakery and finally going through all the, awful steps of learning the business and opening a restaurant, having that for 15 years and then saying, you know what, I just want to bake. So that's what my bakery is. It's just a passion project. It's, everything I've worked on in my entire career.

Tell me about the infamous moment when CM Punk was eating and praising your muffins during an AEW press conference that let to his firing?

I will tell you, it's the gift that keeps on giving. And he's such a great guy!. He lives in my neighborhood, but he used to come to my restaurant all the time and sit at the bar and eat. And he's just a great, very, very good man. And he has always supported me. He's always supported my staff. And, you know, I didn't know the magnitude of it. And it was like just insane. And still people come here because of CM Punk.

The hot fudge babka was unreal, tell me more about that item?

It's just the laminated brioche that we make, and hot fudge, and you know, like a little babka streusel. So it's really, it's really nothing, but it's just the way we make it because we put the hot fudge in the center, we roll it. How bad can that be?!

What is your favorite thing on the menu?

I do these things called Strombolis, and they're just made with, you know, scrap dough of laminated brioche and Danish stuff. And one is savory, and one is vegeterian. And I'm really into the savory because I smoke my own meats and braise them and, I mean, I think they're delicious!

What is the most iconic Chicago restaurant in your eyes?

The first restaurant that comes to my mind. Lula. It's a restaurant in Logan Square. It's been around for 25 years, and, I've known Jason all 25 years of his existence as a restaurateur. And, it's so iconic because they are uber-ly and hyper-ly local and seasonal and, they were probably one of the first. It's just a it's a staple in the city.

CLICK TO WATCH

Veerays

Veerays is a new Indian speakeasy opening this month from michelin star chef Hemant Mathur. They want to transport you to the 1920’s with classic Indian fare. Standout dishes include vintage rajasthani sule, duck vindaloo, and an assortment of naan.

Ciccio Cin Cin

Sister restaruant to Ciccio Bar & Alimenttari, Cin Cin, which opens mid September, is putting an Asian twist on tradtional Florentine dishes! Standouts from the menu include wild boar dumplings, miso eggplant with truffles, and a five spiced duck ragu.

Rafael

Rafael is a new restaurant opening on the UES this month with a menu full of influence from the Mediterranean, and the Middle East. Standouts from the all day menu include the shakshuka, lamb burger on a challah bun, and for dinner, the lamb terracotta cooked in an authentic terracotta pot.

Photo Credit: Patrick Dolande

YOUTUBE

Captain Midnight puts out really insightful videos about pop culture, mostly TV and movie subjects, and this week I was fascinated at his look at why short seasons are killing TV as we know it.  Watch Here

PODCAST

The Bowery Boys are one of my favorite podcasts! Every week its a deep dive on NYC history, and this week I particulary enjoyed their episode about when Longacre Square became Times Square! LISTEN HERE

POLL TIME

Which Restaurant Should I go to Next?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Happy eating everyone! Cya next week!